Unlocking important stories

IMG_0073

Yesterday I ran my 4th Digital Storytelling session with the Riverside Group. The first three sessions were with Marketing and Communications staff in Liverpool. Yesterday I worked with a group of managers who are closer to the frontline at their North East Office in Gateshead.

As I often find,  in this workshop as in others, people frequently preface their remarks with disclaimers along the lines of “I’ve got nothing to say”, or “no one is going to be interested in my story”. And you’d be surprised how often they then go on to prove themselves wrong. My point is that everyone is unique and every individual has something to say which will be of interest to somebody.

The latter part of yesterday’s session focused on getting participants to have their first stab at making a video with their smartphones. Again, people were very self-deprecating about their prospects, “I’m not at all creative” being the most common complaint. And then they all went away and made really good films.

Everyone has a story in them. Often it is just case of giving them the confidence to express it.

I made some of these points in my Social Media Masterclass at the CIH Scotland Conference in Edinburgh last week. And here is a video interview I did at that session. If you’d like me to help your colleagues unlock their stories, please get in touch.

One thought on “Unlocking important stories

  1. You caught me at a good moment (well in a pub in Taunton actually!) Just on the way back from a session with the Cameo Club at the Blackdown Centre in Hemyock. Very rural. One man I got talking to said “I used to work in the stock exchange before they had computers … and before that I was a message boy on Whitehall …. I could tell you about the tunnels under there ….. but no-one is interested in that”. Yes. Yes. They are! Every organisation has a story and every person IS a story, social media (particularly audio) is a great way to tell them. Keep doing what you do, as I will John!

Leave a Reply

