The IslandGovCamp Odyssey

I’m thinking there should be a klaxon going off at this point and a flashing banner, reading DAFT IDEA.

But… here goes anywhere.

Announcing the IslandGovCamp Odyssey… or, at least running it up a flagpole to see who salutes.

IslandGovCamp1

Image shamelessly stolen from the IslandGovCamp Facebook page

I’ve never met Sweyn Hunter in person, but I’ve talked a lot to him online, mainly on Twitter, and he seems like a good guy to me. His day job is in IT at Orkney Council, but he also loves cricket and The Archers, so we have quite a lot in common really. It was over cricket that we first connected, as he was a great supporter of #twicket, the world’s first live online broadcast of a village cricket match that I ran (with a lot of help from others) on Easter Monday last year.

Any way, for some time now, Sweyn has been planning IslandGovCamp, an unconference for people working in the governance of islands (and those with an interest). I love this idea, and really want to attend, particularly, as Sweyn says, it makes perfect sense for me to be there live-streaming the event to people on other islands who can’t make it. Perhaps I can help some people find their way to making things easier when they are prevented from travelling by the presence of stretches of water in the way.

So, as I say, I really want to be at IslandGovCamp, which is taking place on 26th and 27th May, but Orkney is a very long way from me, probably about 600 miles, and there’s a stretch of water in-between too. And I’m operating on a limited budget. So, here’s a potential solution, but, before I dive in, I need to know how much support there for the proposed course of action.

Random Welsh Beach

Oh, and there are at least 4 other people who want to make the trip as well. I’m not going to name them here, because some, at least, of them have regular office jobs, and I’m not sure if they’ve all got permission to make the trip.

So – this is the idea:

Jumping in and laying cards on the table….. I reckon if we do this in the preferred way, it will probably cost around £1,000. My proposal is to crowd-fund this cost. The money would be for a week’s hire of a campervan, food and subsistence, site fees, ferry crossing, etc.

The proposal is for a Social Media Odyssey from the Midlands / North of England to Orkney. I’ve done something similar with “Can’t Get Online Week” last November (see http://wp.me/ppLRZ-kJ), that was 1300 miles, or a similar distance to Orkney and back, and that was modeled, in part, on Christian Payne‘s epic trip from Land’s End to John O’Groats in November 201o.

So, can we get five (or so) people in a campervan, trek up the country to Orkney, documenting our progress as we go, and stopping off to do interesting social media things on the way? I’m thinking we might take three days to get there, stopping to meet people and doing things like:

  • a social media surgery
  • a half-day unconference; and
  • a lightning talks session

as we go.

So, what do you think? Is this a wild and wacky idea? Would you like to see it happen? If we did it would you chip in some money to help us raise £1000? Would it be a mad waste of resources? Could you offer support in kind in any way to help us reduce the costs? Are there companies out there who might sponsor us in exchange for a high profile during the journey?

And, if you did chip in, what would you get? I’m open to suggestions on this, but, here are some ideas:

  • It will be fun and you’ll get to share in the enjoyment;
  • We’ll do some useful events and live-stream them, so you might learn something;
  • You’ll get to watch IslandGovCamp on live-stream as this might be the only way I have of getting there;
  • …… please make any other suggestions in the comments below.

IslandGovCamp is only 7 weeks away, so, if this is going to happen we need to make a decision pretty soon. The first step will be to set up a crowd-funding site, but, I’m not even going to do that unless I know there is some support out there.

6 thoughts on “The IslandGovCamp Odyssey

  1. Brilliant! I’m tempted to make the journey down the Midlands just so that I can travel up with you John! I’d say pop in and see us (in Fife) on the way up, but we’ll probably be on route to IslandGovCamp by then as well.

  2. Great post John and a fantastic idea. As you know, I would love to join the road trip if it’s at all possible and I think Norette Ferns’ idea of us ‘singing for our supper’ offers the best possible chance.
    It always amazes me that people are willing to travel such long distances for these events and it would be great to support the IslandGovCamp organisers by making the trek up north.

  3. I’m very excited by your idea for this roadtrip, John – like Lesley, my first thought was “Can I get time off to go south and travel up with them?”. Then I remembered that I should really be in Orkney as people start to arrive for IslandGovCamp, as I have suggested that discussions on what sessions to have include a tour of the Orkney mainland on Friday 25 May! I will help in any way I can to identify funding for this, and I hope the suggestions I have made for contacts in Inverness will be fruitful.
    Thanks for linking to the Eventbrite registration page for IslandGovCamp in your post: anyone travelling to Orkney for the event should register there. Anyone intending to join in online need just look out for the hashtags and links to webcasts. I would encourage EVERYONE who is intending to take part in any way to have a look at the page on which we will crowd-source ideas for GovCamp sessions:
    http://islandgovcamp2012.ideascale.com
    IslandGovCamp sessions will be exactly as good as the ideas we all come up with! (There are also some suggestions on that page for some social activities for travelling to Orkney, on the Saturday evening between the main sessions, and on the Friday evening).

  4. Pingback: A ‘Sociable’ Enterprise? | markbraggins

Leave a Reply

