Celebration 2.0 and the Grand Opening of City Park, Bradford

Saturday 24th March marks the Grand Opening of City Park, Bradford, as the centre of the city completes its transformation with the official opening of its amazing new water feature.

Photo by Bradford Council

Photo by Bradford Council

I’m taking Celebration 2.0 to the event for a number of reasons. A lot of those reasons are to do with the project objectives of Celebration 2.0. This promises to be a fun event, I want to bring it to a wider audience, and there should be opportunities to showcase the tech I am using and involve some of those present in working out how they might use it themselves.

But, I have another ambition for this venture. Following on from the recent Channel 4 TV programmes “Make Bradford British” which stirred up a lot of controversy, seeming to set out to stoke the fires of tension in the city, I want to take an opportunity to showcase the positive side of Bradford to the world. So, as well as live video streaming what looks like a fabulously joyous, colourful and vibrant event to the world, I want to invite people of Bradford to join me to provide their own commentary on proceedings. I’d like as many of people as possible from different perspectives, communities and viewpoints to come and talk to the world about what their city means to them.

I’ve already sounded a couple of people I know out, so I know I won’t be alone on the day. But, if you want to join in, please add your details in the comments below, or contact me by any of the means you can find at http://johnpopham.com/contact-me/

I look forward to seeing you, in person or online, in Bradford on 24th March.

Leave a Reply

