How to make people love public services

This is just a very quick post

I’ve been involved in a number of conversations recently, both online and off, about how to improve the image of public services and make people appreciate them. This is not just the “glamour” tasks of doctors, nurses, firefighters, etc., but it’s about those people who beaver away making our lives better, mainly unseen by the general public.

Now, I must admit I have not yet had time to watch the BBC’s “The Street that Cut Everything” in full, but I did catch a bit of it the other day. And the piece I caught was the end when the public services are restored to the street which has been living without them and doing their own thing for 6 weeks. I saw scenes of wild jubilation, including one resident kissing his dustbin as it was returned to him. So, it seems the way to make people love public services is to take them away. As the old saying goes; you don’t know what you’ve got till it’s gone.

I’ll be catching up on the whole two episodes of the programme when I get a chance on the BBC iPlayer here.

Leave a Reply

