Brave New World

John Popham at Thinking Digital 2010

I spend a lot of time encouraging people to embrace change, forget fear of the future, and see everything that comes along as a challenge. I believe in that proverb “Whatever doesn’t kill you makes you stronger”. Now, not for the first time, I am practising what I preach.

As from late September, I will be back out in the scary world of freelancing. I’ve done it before, so it doesn’t scare me in that respect. I’ve spent the last two and a half years working for my good friends at Sero Consulting, and I will continue to do so in the future, but I will be free to do other things too.

There is a big difference between the last time I was a freelance and now, That is the rise of Social Media. Looking back at the early part of 2008, the last time I was touting myself as a freelancer, it seems like a different world. I had only recently joined Twitter, I had only penned a few blog posts, and I reckon no more than a handful of people thought Facebook had any serious uses.

Now, we all know people who constantly spam social networks trying to sell you something, or endlessly going on about how good they are. I fervently hope that I can avoid being one of those people, and, if you ever see me doing it, please tell me about it. But, I DO have to make a living, so I will be dusting off my CV, tweaking my Linkedin profile (I really must work out properly how Linkedin works), and, and…. Well, that’s just it, can I really bring myself to use social media as a marketing channel? We’ll just have to see about that.

Well, I suppose this is the start of it, if you’ve read this, you’ve been marketed at, I hope it was a gentle experience, and hasn’t left you feeling too soiled. I’ve made some really lovely friends through social media over the past few years, and the last thing I want to do is to alienate any of you.

John Popham at Big Society in the North Launch

I’ll get round to putting the Linkedin links, etc into my profile on the “About” page of this blog at some point. But, in the meantime, if you know me, or have heard of me, and think I might be someone who you could bear to work with, feel free to tweet me at @johnpopham

16 thoughts on “Brave New World

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Brave New World | John Popham's Random Musings -- Topsy.com

  2. Good luck John…
    … hope it all works out ok.
    Things will really rock once we all get access to the fat pipes.
    chris

  3. Hi John,
    Yes, I agree with one of your earlier commenters – it’s a great time to be working for yourself. There’s lots to do around social media, in spite of the huge numbers using things like facebook, people, groups and organisations are only just beginning to get to grips with the possibilities, potentials (and pitfalls, I guess it is fair to add).
    Here’s to the future!
    Shani

  4. Hi John,
    Well done on taking the leap, not that its anything new to you 😉 You have been a great support to me and also others on Twitter and across the social web. I’m nothing but sure that you will have many fruitful opportunities come rolling your way effortlessly.

    Good luck John (not that you need it 😉 )

    Liz

  5. All the very best, John. Thanks for all your encouragement personally and for guiding me into social networking. Now if you can work out how LinkedIn works – let me know!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.