Why am I not excited by F.A. Cup Third Round Day?

Oh, it’s the magic of the cup, the most exciting day of the sporting calendar, the first weekend in January, has brought F.A. Cup Third Round Day again. But, why does it not excite me like the media thinks it should?

Now, I count myself as a football fan, although my allegiance to Notts County, the club I was first taken to see as a six year-old, makes some people doubt it, and severely causes me to wonder at times. To be honest, I am pretty much of an armchair fan these days, I moved away from Nottingham some 16 years ago, and now live around 80 miles away. There are so many other things to do in life these days, that a 160 mile round trip and two hours on a cold terrace do not figure that high on my list of priorities these days. I used to live walking distance from the ground, and attended nearly every home game. But that was easy. And another factor is that, during my lifetime, my team have played four seasons at the highest level of English football; I have seen them beat some of the top teams in the country (although my Arsenal supporting son still does not believe that Notts County have ever beaten his team – they have, I was there). Having watched them play at what is now Premiership level, I find it very hard to motivate myself to watch a bunch of hard working, but basically talent free, journeymen whacking the leather off the ball for 90 minutes, even though I spent years watching this sort of stuff before they got to the old First Division. The joys of modern technology (albeit via a 16kbps Windows Media stream) mean that I can listen to commentaries of all the games via the Internet, and that does for me most of the time. And I am one of those people who just could not bring myself to take any sort of interest in a club closer to where I live.

My point about the hype of the FA Cup Third Round is that I think it is just that, hype. It is all part of the promotional process that media outlets go through to create interest in events they broadcast. They would never get the viewing or listening figures they need if only the fans of the clubs involved tuned in, so they have to sell the game to neutrals. And it occurred to me this morning, when I was listening to one of the pieces of FA Cup Third Round hype on the radio, is that this is how I used to think about it as a small boy. Is it just me, or has anyone else gone through the development process I have? When I first discovered football, it was all exciting stuff, I devoured the footy magazines, followed the latest news on all the teams, read all the match reports in the Sunday newspaper, got one of those cardboard league tables with slot-in tags in the colours of the teams and re-arranged them into accurate positions after every game. It was football in general which was the exciting thing, and it took me some time, after first being taken to a Notts County game, to focus on “my” team above all others. But that did happen, gradually, over a number of years, until I found that I was only interested in Notts County, and everything else that happened in the game became more and more peripheral. And, then it moved from being peripheral to being annoying; particularly the media assumption that everybody is interested in the Premiership, and we would all be fans of the “big four” if only we could get tickets for the games. As I write this, I am listening to a BBC journalist saying that attendances at lower division clubs are increasing because fans are being priced out of the Premiership games. It could never be that the fans might WANT to support the lower league clubs, could it.

So, my contention is that many football journalists are little boys who never grew up. But, is that genuine, or is it an attitude they are required to develop as part of their jobs? Are they really as excited by football in general as they profess to be? Of course, those who work in the national media are required to have a wide focus, national outlets obviously could not concentrate on one or two clubs (although it sometimes feels like they do). I believe that you support a football club from an early age and then it is impossible to change it. Apart form a natural interest in the underdog, which finds me always wanting the least fancied team to win, when watching a neutral game, I am not interested in what any other football clubs are doing except my own.

And that brings me to the last point. Could it be that FA Cup Third Round day leaves me cold because my team is not in it? This year, for the second season running, they have been knocked out at the Second Round stage by a non-league team. I will be on the Internet, listening to them playing away at Aldershot, in what used to be known as the Fourth Division, I’ve lost track of what they call it now. So, if that has coloured my view on this, and the FA Cup Third Round is really still as exciting as they say it is, please ignore me, go ahead and enjoy it!

2 thoughts on “Why am I not excited by F.A. Cup Third Round Day?

  1. And now Aldershot v. Notts County has been postponed. So maybe I’ll be forced to take an interest in the F.A. Cup Third Round!

  2. …& here’s me half hoping that Hull City would have been knocked out of the FA cup by Newcastle so they could get on with the serious business of staying in the Premiership. So that’s a comment on a small club now in the big time and the diminishing nature of the Cup to the top teams (What? Hull City?). So City sell out for the league and are 80% full for the Cup. The Cup isn’t such a rush for even the tiddlers (sleeping giants some may say) that get into the top pool.

    But to cheer you up, I saw Hull City beat Forest 2-0 in the Cup in the 1965/6 season in front of 44,000 fans. Those were the days when the Cup was the road to glory for a third division team, rather than Arsenal at the Emirates in a league match. (I was also part of City’s lowest gate – 1,175 on a cold night at home against Torquay in the 4th division).

    Blokes should never grow up.

Leave a Reply

