Forget the new and shiny, how do we carry on our interests and passions in later life?

Screen Shot 2012-12-04 at 11.16.40This morning I caught a little bit of an interview with Vladimir Ashkenazy on BBC Radio 4.  Something he said struck a chord (maybe even literally) with me. He said that people in their sixties and seventies can still enjoy playing musical instruments even though they might not be as good at playing them as they once were.

I wonder whether one of the things that is holding back the digital inclusion of older people is the tendency to enthuse over the shiny and new gagets and marvel at the new opportunities they offer. I know I am as guilty of this as many people. Perhaps what really matters to older people is the ability to carry on what they have always done and enjoyed,  and which they might be losing the ability to do.

During the Our Digital Planet project, I have come across a number of people whose eyes have been opened as to how the internet could help them pursue old interests. I am thinking of Ron in Bristol (pictured above), who found a new way of approaching his own photography and art, and I am thinking of visitors in Liverpool who were enchanted to find how Youtube offered an archive of material they had not been able to see for years. In one case this was of Tommy Steele singing his hit records from the 1950s, in another this was seeing Ian St. John in his pomp, playing football for Liverpool in the 1960s. And, also in Liverpool, there was the visitor from Malta, who was able to find archive video of his own wife being visited as a tiny baby in hospital by the then Princess Elizabeth.

Could we use new technologies to help people carry on playing musical instruments as their dexterity declines? I am sure there is work going on in this field. One of the other applications that immediately occurs to me is the use of tablet devices to enable people easily to increase the font size on newspaper articles and books which they might not be able to read in their paper versions due to failing eyesight. This could be used for reading music too.  And I know there is lots of other work going on to enable new technologies to be used to help people adapt to the frailties of old age, but I am not aware that any of this is explicitly linked to digital inclusion. If it is not, it should be.

In Our Digital Planet, and in lots of other work I have done, I have been a strong believer in starting from people’s interests. I think we need to think a lot more about how we use the internet and new technologies to help people find alternative ways of doing things they have always done, and not alway be seeking for the new.

6 thoughts on “Forget the new and shiny, how do we carry on our interests and passions in later life?

  1. If you start collating info I have some brill case studies you can use. As an older person I talk to my peers, and the things they tell me are amazing use of the internet.

  2. When you talk to a lot of people like I do (and you do too) you realise that although their bodies look ‘older’ their minds are still the same. I still get a shock when I see myself in a mirror or a photo, because in my mind I am the same as I was in the years where I used to look in the mirror a lot… and we really hate being treated like fools when we know so much stuff. Although I can remember very well being 16 and I knew everything then. Its only with age we realise how little we know, but we know that. ;) We also cut through the BS and if something is more trouble than it is worth we don’t waste time on it. Time is too precious. Therefore tech has to be useful to us, easy to access and simple. There is no need for it all to be complicated. The youngsters job is to make it work. We will use it if its any good.

  3. The BBC’s technology correspondent, Rory Cellan-Jones, mentioned recently that he had been contacted by a viewer who just wanted to find a simple phone with big buttons she could see and use. Manufacturers are finally starting to pick up on this but I suppose it’s in their best interests to concentrate on attracting customers who want the latest smaller and shinier thing. Daft to ignore such a big potential market when all it needs is the right pitch.

Leave a Reply

